When you are trying to gain new customers, it’s important to put your best foot forward. Understanding the viewing habits of your current subscribers can help you do that. Vimeo OTT provides you with data around your videos to help you gain context on how your subscribers are engaging with your videos. On the Top Videos page in your admin you can access which videos from your libarary have the most plays and finishes.
Knowing your most popular content can also help you with retaining your existing customers too. You can utilize this knowledge in a few different ways.
Recap of Your Best Content
If you have a newsletter listserv, highlighting new and popular content is a great way to keep current customers engaged and entice followers to sign up. You can use tools such as campaign links and Google Analytics to see which of your outlets is generating the most customer conversions and use that to inform your future marketing strategies.
Offer Transactional Packages
If you have some videos that are particularly popular, you may want to consider selling them as a transactional purchase for download. This is a great way to get new customers interested in what you have to offer. If you have a single title or collection that you know has been popular, you can package it and market it towards nonsubscribers following you via your newsletters or social media.
To make purchasing more enticing, you can have the package available for a limited time and/or use the pay what you want feature. You can price as low as a dollar. We’ve found that many customers appreciate the ability to support creators and will often pay more than the minimum.
Highlight Your Top Content on Social Media
Use your presence on social to highlight your popular work or new content. You can start out by posting about specific videos or series to your existing followers. See if it’s drawing your current subscribers to click and watch, or if it’s helping convert followers to customers. You can also try linking ads to a short video that’s in front of the paywall as a means to conversion.
If what you’re sharing resonates with your current audience, it’s content that will also likely appeal to your target audience. If you are starting to invest in Social Ads, you can use lookalike targeting to find the people who are most like your existing customers. Instead of creating generic ads that point to your homepage, use assets from your top content and direct prospective to the landing page for that title, series, or collection. Make sure you have a high-quality trailer in place. Sites with free trials enabled tend to convert better, so be sure to have that feature turned on. Social media tools will show you what your Cost Per Acquisition (CPA) is. CPA is how much it costs to convert someone who sees your ad into becoming a subscriber. To determine if your social ads are worth the cost you want to figure out the Lifetime Value (LTV) of your customers. You can get an approximation by dividing how much you charge a month by your monthly churn. For example, if your site charged $5.99 a month and had monthly churn of 10%, your LTV would be $5.99/.10 which comes out to $59.99. You want your LTV to be higher than your CPA.
Check out our other best practice guides for more tips on how to grow your audience.